Should the images stay in the image directory after using them?
My Image directory has always kept my images that I've used in questions or answers. I wouldn't think this would be very useful since I'm soon going to get lost in my massive collection. I also noticed that if I delete one, that is in the directory, that the place I used it in shows an error.
Will the image always show up there or is this a bug? If you do want to show the images it would be nice to the ability to toggle between images I've used and images I haven't used.
Please see the image below for a better understanding. Please note that all of the images you see are already being using in questions or answers. Thanks
All right, we've fixed the issue.
What should happen:
- When you upload an image and add it to a post, that image is moved from your shelf to the post. It will no longer reside in your shelf.
- If you want to use an image again, you need to upload it again.
On some images on the site, you get a contextual menu with the option to 'copy to my images'. This is a way of reusing images that are on the site without having to download and reupload the image. We are planning on rolling out this image menu to all images eventually, so reusing someone else's answers image is as easy as clicking 'Copy to my images.'
What was happening:
- When you put an image on a post, it did not remove the reference to the image from your image shelf.
- Then, if you ever decided to clear your shelf by clicking 'Delete All Images,' it removed them from all the posts the image was on. This is a very bad thing. Removing images from your shelf should never cause data loss.
I'm terribly sorry about this. We take revision history on posts very seriously, and there should never be any way to lose any data from a post.