Introduction

This guide demonstrates how to take a Category that has already been organized and relabel it as an "Orphan".

What is the benefit of an Orphaned category? You may not want users on your site stumbling across content that is unfinished, obsolete, or not applicable to them, though you may not want to delete the content entirely.

A category that is left as an Orphan will not appear within the category hierarchy, so your users browsing through your site will not see it when navigating your site. Furthermore, you can flag any Orphan Category as Private, preventing it from appearing in search results for unprivileged users as well.

By default, any new category pages you create using the "Create a Page" option from your user drop down menu will be listed in the "Orphan" section of the Category Manager. This guide shows you how to make an existing, organized category on your site into an Orphan.

Open your Management Console and select Content from the navigation menu on the left.
  • Open your Management Console and select Content from the navigation menu on the left.

  • This will open your Category Manager.

Add Comment

Create a new Category by clicking the + icon at the top of the Category list. This will be a sample or test category, so the name is irrelevant. This will be a sample or test category, so the name is irrelevant.
  • Create a new Category by clicking the + icon at the top of the Category list.

  • This will be a sample or test category, so the name is irrelevant.

Add Comment

  • Move the category you would like to be reorganized as an Orphan into this new Sample category by dragging and dropping.

Add Comment

Click on the new Sample category.
  • Click on the new Sample category.

Add Comment

The category you would like to be reordered will be located inside this Sample Category. Click the Edit tab.
  • The category you would like to be reordered will be located inside this Sample Category.

  • Click the Edit tab.

  • Scroll down to the bottom of the Edit page and click the Delete Category button delete the sample category.

Add Comment

By deleting the parent category, the categories organized within this deleted parent become Orphans.
  • By deleting the parent category, the categories organized within this deleted parent become Orphans.

  • You should now be able to view the moved category in the Orphan section of the Category Manager.

Add Comment

Finish Line

Dozuki System

Member since: 09/24/2009

1 Reputation

123 Guides authored

0 Comments

Add Comment