Can I hide some steps from end users?

When writing a Guide, is it possible to selectively hide steps from a set of users, so that these are only visible to an approved group?

Here's the use case:

In several guides we are writing, it would be useful to include additional steps that only apply to internal users (in this case, Support reps that also use this documentation), but hide this additional information from end users (i.e. customers). The goal is to have both Support Reps and Customers use the same guides if possible, so that we don't have to duplicate this content in order to add additional notes that may only apply to one group or the other.

Answer this question I have this problem too

Is this a good question?

Score 0
Add a comment

1 Answer

Hey, Melissa!

Thanks for your question. Right now, we don't have a way to create unique privacy settings for specific steps. However, we are always willing to work with you to use the tools we have to accomplish the goals you have for the site!

Was this answer helpful?

Score 0

Comments:

You could probably use prerequisites to create two versions of the guide to accomplish this without duplicating the content.

by

Interesting suggestion, thanks Kyle. I just read up on prerequisites, and I'm thinking we could do something like this:

- Create a customer-facing guide with the steps approved for that audience.

- Create an internal-facing guide that only contains the additional internal steps

- Add the customer-facing guide as prerequisite steps to the internal-facing guide, so that this content is only consolidated for the internal audience.

If I've understood your suggestion correctly, that may work. I'll take a deeper look, thanks!

by

Add a comment

Add your answer

Melissa Burpo will be eternally grateful.